1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What NBN Plans do you all use?

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by AintWarHeLL(hehe), Jul 31, 2016.

  1. AintWarHeLL(hehe)

    Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,211
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    303
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Occupation:
    Unemployed Bum :)
    Location:
    Collinsville
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    NBN is finally coming to my little town, thank god, my ISP NUSKOPE is currently giving me dial-up speeds at peak times :( and seems to be caching its data through Broadband ISP for Screen Media Industries just to give me high pings, and lower their costs. so I do not want that.

    SO what NBN plans do you all use and how good are they? I am wanting 100/40 speeds and currently smoke through 250GB a month at my sometimes slow ADSL2+ speeds.

    any advice will be much appreciated.
     
  2. -Gothic-

    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Media:
    13
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    I used to download up to 2tb a month on my ADSL2+ connection (which had a peak of 700kb/s). :p

    Speaking of NBN I am on TPG 100/40 with unlimited home phone its about $110 a month. They are average for me here. My downloads vary from 3-8mb/s <actual,not sync speed>, unless its steam or origin, then i pull a solid 11mb/s. I have had like 2 dropouts for about 5 mins in the last 6 months, so they are stable. The only downside with the bigger ISPs like TPG/DODO ect is they do oversell their bandwidth a bit. Also TPG are based in Sydney so I personally would only recommend them if i were living there. Im keen on finding a decent Melbourne based ISP. Im looking at others and reckon i could scrimp with about 1tb a month. So Im thinking Iprimus or iinet..
    TPG speed test (ookla = Melbourne server)
    [​IMG]

    TPG speed test (ookla = Sydney server)

    [​IMG]

    Those tests i did just now (Sunday night peak times)

    Hope this helps
     
    AintWarHeLL(hehe) likes this.
  3. poosloth

    Squad Admin Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Carpenter
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Local Time:
    11:07 AM
    5517101686.png I have TPG 100/40 unlimited, pretty unreliable tbh but my life doesn't depend on the net so meh, if my business however depended on it, different story
     
  4. -Gothic-

    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Media:
    13
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    I just did a speed test from here to Brisbane

    [​IMG]
     
  5. -Gothic-

    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Media:
    13
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    Here is the TPG speed test

    Last Result:
    Download Speed: 87857 kbps (10982.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 32321 kbps (4040.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Latency: 27 ms
    Jitter: 1 ms
    Packet Loss: -1%
    7/31/2016, 9:35:28 PM

    Ookla gives all sorts of crazy results (routing issues, especially between Syd and melb).. This is the one that apparently is most reliable.

    I MUST mention I am on a FTTH setup. Not FTTN. Be interesting to know if you are getting Fibre to the premise or just to the Node
     
  6. AintWarHeLL(hehe)

    Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,211
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    303
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Occupation:
    Unemployed Bum :)
    Location:
    Collinsville
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    I had a fight with TPG back in the day, high ping's and caching data, and I still owe them money that I said I would never pay :) . but does caching data hurt NBN speeds and ping?

    current speed, faster now that I am talking about it :)

    [​IMG]
     
  7. -Gothic-

    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Media:
    13
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    Damn.. that upload speed is painful to look at. Erm.. so TPG is out of the question.. I honestly am not sure of any others. Whirlpool might be worth a gander.
     
    AintWarHeLL(hehe) likes this.
  8. AintWarHeLL(hehe)

    Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,211
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    303
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Occupation:
    Unemployed Bum :)
    Location:
    Collinsville
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    We will be just getting FTTN Gothic
     
  9. YAK

    YAK

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Local Time:
    11:07 AM
    I checked the other day
    , upload_2016-7-31_22-39-3.png

    I'm still really skeptical as we are usually last to receive anything (absurdly safe liberal seat), it's been promised so many times. Plus our exchange is full, so are they upgrading that too? I dunno how it works

    I'm on a BizEssentials Max ADSL HS 2terabyte plan atm, [​IMG]

    Paying approx $100 a month, would kill for some NBN goodness.
     
  10. Loopener

    Donator

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Queensland
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    Just got hooked up to a 25/5 FTTN connection last month, up from a 4/1 ADSL connection
    [​IMG]
    Speed depends on the quality of the copper in your area and the distance you are from the node (I'm about 450m). I wasn't guaranteed 100/40 by my ISP.
     
    AintWarHeLL(hehe) likes this.
  11. YAK

    YAK

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Local Time:
    11:07 AM
    I will be getting FTTN, with maybe looking at how expensive getting FTTP will be, but you cant apply or see how much it will cost until they finish the FTTN. I have a feeling i'll get speeds similar to yours with FTTN.

    only problem is they charge like $400 for a quote. Oh well, i suppose it means less people wasting their time.
     
  12. ACC1

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    NSW
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    #12 ACC1, Aug 1, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2016
    Got connected several months ago and was initially impressed with the results I got as I expected much worse being on Liberals corrupt FTTN NBN deal with 350-450m copper. Test during the day I got around 90/35 But haven't properly tested it as my daily setup yet.. ( Not currently living there, will be soon as Ive had enough of this house and its 0.6Mb/s ADSL connection.. )
    Using Telstra, Which is probably the most expensive ISP. $150 P/M with phone.

    I also looked into getting FTTP but they charge you 300-400 for a quote, then the quote would be a few thousand.. And if you are the first in the street to do it you make it cheaper for everyone else to go FTTP.
    If you have most of the street interested it would make things cheaper to do it together., Will look into it again if initial speeds slow too much as I start using it for my daily usage.
     
  13. YAK

    YAK

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Local Time:
    11:07 AM
    Haha unlikely. We just lodged a DA for a rebuild, so $300 in the scheme of things isn't that much. Our neighbours are twats though, there's no chance in hell they'll consider it. I'm pretty sure these neanderthals don't even have computers, let alone an internet connection.
     
  14. AintWarHeLL(hehe)

    Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,211
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    303
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Occupation:
    Unemployed Bum :)
    Location:
    Collinsville
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    I am sitting 20 metres from the node :D
     
  15. ACC1

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    NSW
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    Be interesting to see the $ quote you get back, have a new build in planning also, Ive seen posts where people had the quote done then decided not to have the installation take place when the build quote came back too expensive for them to justify. ( It can vary a lot, but I saw one quote around $4-5k )
     
  16. AintWarHeLL(hehe)

    Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,211
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    303
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Occupation:
    Unemployed Bum :)
    Location:
    Collinsville
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    What's inside the node? my place is back where the power pole is.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    and seen this last night

     
    SprinterOz likes this.
  17. Madhouse

    Head Admin Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Media:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    My speedtest...
    [​IMG] ;)


    I have FTTN since December '15, love it, no problems what so ever. I'm on a 50/20 Telstra NBN plan - only pay $95 p/m.
     
    SprinterOz and AintWarHeLL(hehe) like this.
  18. SprinterOz

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Local Time:
    11:07 AM
    Fixed wireless 50/20 premium account unlimited-unlimited, no shaping, no quoter limit

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    AintWarHeLL(hehe) likes this.
  19. AintWarHeLL(hehe)

    Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,211
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    303
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Occupation:
    Unemployed Bum :)
    Location:
    Collinsville
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    #19 AintWarHeLL(hehe), Aug 4, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2016
  20. Ethli

    Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Retail
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Local Time:
    11:37 AM
    I have pretty bad internet myself, but I get good ping which is good I guess :) ADSL2+
    [​IMG]
     
Loading...

Share This Page